Monday, 27 February 2017

Valentine's Day at the Star and Six pence




Title: Valentine's Day at the Star and Six Pence
Author: Holly Hepburn 
Published: 8th February 2016
My Rating: 4/5
Recommend: Hell yes!
Synopsis:

Fall in love at the Star and Sixpence this Valentine's Day....

Love is in the air as sisters Nessie and Sam prepare for Valentine's Day at their newly renovated pub, The Star and Sixpence. They have a star chef winging her way from London to cook a very special Valentine's Day dinner, for all the couples in the village. 
 
But as sparks fly in the kitchen, will love bloom in The Star and Sixpence? A romantic short story, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Scarlett Bailey. 



OMG!!!! Guys!!! This book was sooooooooooo cute and I loved every minute of it. I never thought I would enjoy the book so much!

From what I gather, Nessie and Sam are sisters and they take over Star and the Sixthpence when their father dies, although initially they find it difficult they pull through. I can't really say much about the characters or the plot since it was a short story. However, on Valentines Day they want to arrange a special evening at the Star and Sixpence with the help of a celebrity chef. 

BUT what I can tell you is that Owen, Sam, Nessie and Joss made me want to read more and I want TO DEVOUR THIS BOOK SO PLEASE DO NOT STAND IN MY WAY!!!!!!!! I love these kind of books!!!


Adiรณs amigos :)

 Like what you read? Hit the like button and don't forget to share this! ^_^
 Bloglovin | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | G+ | Pinterest
your photo name

Wednesday, 22 February 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Dark Breaks the Dawn


"Waiting on" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.



Title: Dark Breaks the Dawn
Author: Sara. B Larson
Series: Untitled as of yet
Release Date: 30th May 2017
Synopsis:


On her eighteenth birthday, Princess Evelayn of Eadrolan, the Light Kingdom, can finally access the full range of her magical powers. The light looks brighter, the air is sharper, and the energy she can draw when fighting feels almost limitless.

But while her mother, the queen, remains busy at the war front, in the Dark Kingdom of Dorjhalon, the corrupt king is plotting. King Bain wants control of both kingdoms, and his plan will fling Evelayn onto the throne much sooner than she expected.

In order to defeat Bain and his sons, Evelayn will quickly have to come into her ability to shapeshift, and rely on the alluring Lord Tanvir. But not everyone is what they seem, and the balance between the Light and Dark comes at a steep price



I first saw this on Brittany's WOW, and I could not just help myself I had to add it to my tbr too! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

Let's talk: what are you waiting on this week? Let me know in the comments below!

Like what you read? Hit the like button and don't forget to share this! ^_^
Bloglovin | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | G+ | Pinterest
your photo name

Monday, 20 February 2017

Getting to Yes



Title: Getting to Yes
Author: Allie Pleiter
Published: 12th July 2016
My Rating: 4/5
Recommend: YES!!
Synopsis:

Suzann knows Adam is the perfect man for her--the man she's waited for, prayed for, fallen hard for from the first. Valentine's Day is coming. It's the perfect time for him to pop the question. She's more than ready, he's trying to get ready, so why would God throw obstacle after obstacle into the mix? Will Suzann and Adam get to "yes"? This tenderly romantic and funny novelette is a short, sweet read and the prequel to Sweet City Hearts 2:"My So-Called Love Life" (Previously released as a Harlequin Love Inspired online read.) 

An avid knitter, BBC Television geek and French macaron enthusiast, Allie Pleiter writes both fiction and non-fiction working on as many as four novels at a time. The enthusiastic but slightly untidy bestselling author of over two dozen books, Allie spends her days writing, playing with her adorable Havanese dog Bella, buying too much yarn, and finding new ways to avoid housework. Allie hails from Connecticut, moved to the midwest to attend Northwestern University, and currently lives outside Chicago, Illinois. The “dare from a friend” to begin writing has produced a fourteen-year career with over one million books sold. In addition to writing, Allie regularly speaks on faith, the creative process, and women’s issues.


OMG!!! These short stories are going to finish me! This was so hilarious, if I thought I was crazy and over thinks a lot then clearly I have not met Suzann! My only regret is that she is not real! Why do I fall in love with characters? :'( Oh yeah because they are just so perfect and silly like ME!!!!

Suzann and Adam are perfect for each other, they have been dating for a year now and Suzann knows he is the one. So what is the problem? The problem begins when Suzann starts to hope and fantasise about Adam proposing her on their one year anniversary. Unknown to her, Adam is facing problems of his own. We know that his parents had one of the worst marriages/divorce ever but we are not told how severe it was and how much that impacted on Adam. We do know that is makes him afraid, especially when his boss also is having problems with his own wife and had a confrontation scene in the office. Yikes, now that would be a weird thing to see in front of everyone.

I really loved Suzann and Adam, they were both caring, considerate and romantic towards one another but Adam fails to push through and take a leap of faith. For all the romantic lovers out there (that would be me too), he does eventually say it in the end *phew* but I now I want to know MORE!!!!!!

Let's talk: do you love short stories too? Let me know your recs below!

 Like what you read? Hit the like button and don't forget to share this! ^_^
 Bloglovin | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | G+ | Pinterest
your photo name

Thursday, 16 February 2017

Top 10 books I read in 2016



Okay so I know I am a tad bit late on this post (a bit? Try 2 months late) which has been sitting in my draft folder for about a month now. BUT I finally decided that I should throw everything else out at the window and just get on with it! Nobody is getting any younger right? Unless you choose to believe otherwise which you totally should. Right I am rambling again...


2016 has been one of the best reading year for me, although I did not read much but I still read a great deal of books that absolutely blew my mind. Here is my pick on them!


P.ssssss if you click on the images you will be re-directed to my reviews 





(Check out Elise website here and cover art by Merilliza Chan)

1. Air Awaken Series


I will love this series till my dying breath. It's a shame it is over, with the events unfolding so quickly, my heart speeding up in its pace, I don't know if I ever could get over this series. I am in love with Aldrik and Vhalla so much! Have you seen the other cover's art by the artist? She is amazing, so please check her and the author's books too!






2. Flawed


Guys, I have no idea if I have even recovered from this book yet, even though I am eagerly awaiting the sequel. What happens to Celestine in the book, I remember every detail of it every time I close my eyes. I CRIED when they were tormenting her, the last time I cried was when I read Me Before You. This is the most intense book I have read in 2016 so this is definitely in the top 5. 





3. The Square Root of Summer


I really loved this book even though I had no idea what Gottie was talking about half of the time, she was just so clever. It made me feel like that if I read science or math books then I would become too (it is never that easy is it?).





4. The Neverland Wars


I have maybe read retellings before but this was my first Peter Pan retelling and I loved every minute of it. I am hoping there is romance blossoming between Peter and Gwen but I guess I will have to wait and see what happens.






5. Act Like It


As soon as I read the blurb, I fell in love with this book. I can't wait for the second book to come out, Lucy Parker is my new favourite author! *sighs*






6. Beyond the Stars


Another contemporary I fell in love with, as soon as I saw the cover I just had to buy it! I really loved Jess and Jack in this book, I only wish Jack was real!





7. The Reflections of Queen Snow White


This one actually surprised me, as the title suggests it is a reflection on Snow White's life from child to adult. I wanted more scenes between Prince Charming and Snow White though and it is a shame he dies ๐Ÿ˜”





8. Edenhart Rivalry


AHHHH!!! I LOVED AURORA AND TRISTAN IN THIS BOOK!!! I am so psyched that the author will be releasing a sequel soon! Eek! Can you believe it?  I still wish Percy didn't die though and I hate where the author just ends the book, that is when it is getting so intense you are at the edge of your seat!!!!





9. Emerge


This book was very interesting it was a book about the Mer folks but it also about Sirens who serenade people with their songs. I absolutely loved this twist.





10. Alchemist of Loom


How can I not include this my top 10? I loved this book so much, although I was wondering how Elise would take her approach in this new book. But as ever, she does it again! I have never read a book about dragons before and I am glad this was my first read because I am NOW OBSESSED WITH THEM! 


Let's talk: So there you have it folks, my top 10 books I read in 2016. I want to know what books were your favourite in 2016 so leave your links in the comments below!

Like what you read? Hit the like button and don't forget to share this! ^_^

 Bloglovin | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | G+ | Pinterest


your photo name
 photo tw_1.jpg  photo fb_1.jpg  photo ins_1.jpg  photo bl_1.jpg  photo gplus_1.jpg  photo pin.jpg